Please join the Friends at our annual meeting, October 20, 2019, 1:30pm, in the Collis Family Gallery.

Immediately following the meeting, the Barrington High School Jazz Ensemble will entertain us at 2:00pm in the Salem Family Auditorium, sponsored by the Friends of the Barrington Public Library.  Refreshments will follow the concert.  All welcome!

The BHS Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Barbara Hughes, is an outstanding group of young talent that is no stranger to awards and accolades.   The ensemble works to preserve the great jazz tradition of swing and Latin music, as well as celebrate contemporary music.  Under Hughes’ direction, it has twice won the Berklee High School Jazz Festival and has also twice been chosen to participate in the Essentially Ellington Festival in NYC.  The ensemble has commissioned works from local jazz artists Scott Free and John McKenna and has performed along the East Coast in festivals and at local churches, clubs and schools.  Many ensemble members can also be heard playing at local jazz clubs.


President – Nancy Brex

Vice President – Janine Connelly

Treasurer – Charles Van Sluyter

Secretary – Cindy Pierce

Don’t forget to renew your membership which arrived recently in the mail.  We count on your support to continue the amazing number of programs offered at the Library.   For more information, contact us at: or visit us on Facebook.